A second life

Elizabeth Donald
7 min readJun 17, 2022

Who would you be, if you could be anyone?

Recently, I attended a convention that took place entirely in the virtual reality world of Second Life due to the pandemic. It sucked me in, and I find as time goes on I’m spending more of my scant free time there as opposed to endlessly scrolling Facebook so I can begin and end each day angry.

If you’re not aware, Second Life is a long-running virtual world co-created by its own inhabitants. It has its own monetary system, an endless variety of lands (known as sims) “owned” by the residents and designed according to their…

--

--

Elizabeth Donald

Journalist for more than 25 years, freelance writer, editor, photographer, and fiction author. Subscribe at patreon.com/edonald or visit donaldmedia.com.