My own half-blood prince

Elizabeth Donald
3 min readFeb 7, 2021

My MFA writing professor has been assigning us experiments on pretty much a weekly basis, and several of them have come from a book titled The 3 a.m. Epiphany. It bills itself as “uncommon writing exercises,” and while I’ve always been more of a free-form writer, I’ve been enjoying the exercises she gave us.

I’ve also been trying to fill up my writing craft book collection, so I snagged a copy of The 3 a.m. Epiphany. Whenever possible, though, I try to get my books used. For one thing, I’m poor. For another, it helps out independent booksellers more than Bezos, who already gets enough of my money. Unfortunately, this book wasn’t available in inventory at my local bookseller, so I hunted down a used-book reseller via Amazon after all.

The seller was AikiFox Books, based in Illinois, and half the proceeds from the shop go to Books 2 Prisoners, a nonprofit that provides books to incarcerated people in my state. I hadn’t heard of them before, so not only did I buy the book, but I made note of their contact info for my charity book sales. We always have books left over after the big book sale for the American Cancer Society in October, and while not all our titles will be appropriate for the prisoners, I’d like for them to go to good use.

My book arrived the same day as this week’s workshop, where we were once again given a prompt and a photo. I talked about the book with my professor, and as we were discussing its merits, I started flipping through it.

--

--

Elizabeth Donald

Journalist for more than 25 years, freelance writer, editor, photographer, and fiction author. Subscribe at patreon.com/edonald or visit donaldmedia.com.